On this day England won the final of ICC World Cup 2019 vs New Zealand
January 30, 2023
On this day England won the final of ICC World Cup 2019 their 1st ever World Cup title

Image Source: Yahoo Sports

On this day England won the final of ICC World Cup 2019 their 1st ever World Cup title

England World Cup Final 2019

On this day in 2019, the cricket world witnessed the most epic ICC World Cup Final ever, probably the most dramatic final ever & England won their first world cup ever. The winner was announced on the basis of boundary count.

On 14 July 2019, exactly a year ago England and New Zealand face off each other in a thrilling final. Both teams had not won World Cup Final till then and that was the first time when the world witnessed the new world cup winner. Both teams played exceptional cricket throughout the tournament but Pakistan was the only team to beat both finalist teams.


In the all-important final clash, New Zealand won the toss and decided to bat first at Lord’s. Lord cricket ground hosting World Cup Final for fourth times; most by any venue. The tight bowling spell from England made New Zealand score only 33 runs in the first powerplay. While wickets keep trembling down from one side, Henry Nicholls and Tom Latham stood tall and put a respectable total on the board. Chris Woakes and Liam Plunkett shines from England and took 3-3 scalps respectively.

Chase and the super over drama:

Chasing is not easy in high-pressure games, after a slow start Jason Roy caught behind by Tom Latham on the delivery of Matt Henry. But like a lone warrior, Ben Stokes stood tall till the last bowl with supportive innings of Jos Buttler to tie the match on 241. Again in the super over while chasing 16, Guptill tried to take the second run but got runout. The whole drama happened at Lord’s thus on the boundary count England called the winner of the game due to more boundaries than New Zealand.

The hero of 2019 world cup final Ben Stokes:

Ben Stokes was the one who was criticized when he just throws away world cup final in 2016 by conceding 4 sixes on 4 balls against Carlos Brathwaite. But he won the millions of hearts with his beautiful match-winning knock because he was the last hope for England and he proved himself and got Man Of Match award while Kane Williamson got Player of the Series award for his batting performances.

We hope that you like our post about ICC world cup 2019 Final keep visiting our blog for regular updates about SportsLiteratureTechFitnessCurrent AffairsPoliticsEntertainmentMovies, and more.

Category: Sports, Cricket